Skip to main content
An American Murder Mystery: The Staircase

An American Murder Mystery: The Staircase

1 Season
QC:  16+
Included with a subscription to:
  • CRAVE ( Fr )
Investigation Discovery's "American Murder Mystery" franchise presents the confounding case of Kathleen Peterson, who in 2001 was found dead at the bottom of a staircase in her North Carolina home. Investigators homed in on her husband, novelist Michael Peterson, who claimed it was an accident. This three-part special comprehensively delves into Kathleen's death and Michael's trial for murder. It explores shocking theories -- including one involving an owl -- and surprising secrets and includes interviews with the case's key players, as well as legal experts, jurors and reporters who covered it.
Documentary, Crime, Mystery

  • 18+
  • Violence

  • QC: 16+
  • Violence


  • I Whispered Her Name

    1. I Whispered Her Name

    Investigators discover Michael Peterson holding his dead wife at the bottom of their back staircase.

    43m 53s Fr

  • Lightning Strikes Twice

    2. Lightning Strikes Twice

    Investigators discover that Michael Peterson's friend was found dead at the bottom of a staircase.

    43m 43s Fr

  • Reversal of Fortune

    3. Reversal of Fortune

    Bombshell revelations about an expert witness threaten to unravel the entire case.

    43m 28s Fr