Skip to main content



1 Season
V, L, S, M
Included with a subscription to:
The classic story of "Roots" is retold in this miniseries based on Alex Haley's 1976 novel, painting a portrait of American slavery through the journey of a family that has a will to survive through many hardships.


  • Part 1

    1. Part 1

    Kunta Kinte, a headstrong and clever teenager, is captured and sold into slavery from the Kingdom of Niumi in the 1760s.

    49m 17s

  • Part 2

    2. Part 2

    After landing in America, Kunta is sold to an ill-tempered tobacco plantation owner.

    40m 7s

  • Part 3

    3. Part 3

    When the Revolutionary War breaks out, Kunta joins the British in pursuit of emancipation as his thirst for freedom remains unbroken.

    49m 9s

  • Part 4

    4. Part 4

    Kizzy gives birth to Tom Lea's son, George, and decides to kill herself. At the last moment, Kizzy chooses to live like her father.

    40m 13s

  • Part 5

    5. Part 5

    George grows up to work for his father and master, Tom Lea. He is assigned to work with Mingo to take care of the fighting birds.

    43m 21s

  • Part 6

    6. Part 6

    Tom Lea promises that he'll give George the opportunity to buy his freedom someday. Marcellus offers to purchase Kizzy but Tom refuses.

    46m 12s

  • Part 7

    7. Part 7

    Chicken George returns to America as a free man after twenty years of cockfighting in England and finds his family.

    44m 48s

  • Part 8

    8. Part 8

    After Secessionist troops rape his wife, Tom agrees to help Nancy with a plot to kill an officer and abscond with military intelligence.

    44m 53s